Covid transformation. What to expect? - Irina Khomutova, Khomutova & Partners

Covid transformation. What to expect?

Since the beginning of the pandemic, the world has changed. Simultaneously with systemic shifts in the economy, there is a significant transformation in society, which is a consequence of a change in the perception of each member of the surrounding reality. Despite all the seeming versatility of such reactions, all of them with some certainty can be entered into the psychological model of the five stages of acceptance, proposed back in 1969 by Elizabeth Kubler-Ross in her studies of the near-death experiences of patients - taking into account its subsequent refinement in the part that a person goes through these stages of acceptance not only when faced with the fear of death, but also in the face of any existential threat. Five sequential stages: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance.

In essence, the acceptance stage is a defense mechanism that helps a person psychologically adapt to change. If you look closely at the stages that have already been passed since the beginning of the pandemic, you can fairly accurately predict the timing of the transition to the final stage of adoption, accompanied by a positive search for opportunities, adaptation to a new reality and personality change in general.

Spring 2020 was accompanied by the theses characteristic of the first stage of denial: “world conspiracy”, “politics”, “the media just aggravates the situation”, “it won't touch me”, “none of my acquaintances is sick”, “masks are useless”. The news caused shock and complete rejection. By the summer, the stage of denial was replaced by anger and the search for the guilty. Accusations were heard from different sides that the restrictions are illegal, the state does not help, there are no masks and national medicine is not ready. Together with anger, people experienced fear, since no one had previously thought about deadly viruses. Consciousness was captured by the negative.

Following denial and anger, society moved to the stage of bargaining, accompanied by active measures to correct the situation: the purchase of the most effective masks and screens, compliance social distance. The vaccination program launched in various countries has been met with great enthusiasm. The community is encouraged by its first victories, and everyone is looking forward to the early completion of this story. What's next?

As soon as the stage of bargaining is over, along with the feeling of the achieved success, the optimism that temporarily gripped the society will go away. 2020 is over, and epidemiological activities will continue. There is no objective reason to expect that the coronavirus epidemic will end with the beginning of the new year. At the same time, will mass vaccination radically change the situation? Certainly. But given the capacity of enterprises producing vaccines, there is no need to wait for the emergence of herd immunity and the end of the pandemic before the end of this year, even taking into account imports from countries where vaccines are manufactured under license. Is it possible to strengthen quarantine measures in 2021? Yes, absolutely. Moreover, if the epidemic reaches its next peak and the health care system ceases to cope, the neuroticization of society will be so great that it itself will require everyone to be locked up.

So, the protracted measures and the periodically worsening situation will gradually plunge society into depression, which will be characterized by regret about the past, helplessness, a feeling of loneliness, irritability and a desire to retire: there will be no help from the state, there will be no waiting time for vaccination, all the same get sick, we are all mortal, you can remove the protection, etc. - all restrictions are meaningless.

What new challenges and tasks will the business face at this stage? This will be a difficult period with a general decline in business activity. The task of the business at this time is to demonstrate to the audience its adaptability to new conditions, to offer clear and comfortable solutions, to broadcast confident positivity and support. The consumer market will stop regretting the past way of life and habits if you formulate current values, fill communications with other meanings, use the opportunities that have arisen and propose new formats.

Reloading the sales and communications strategy

Society, of course, is still experiencing resistance and is not ready to fully integrate into the new reality, but this is a matter of time. We entered 2021 with challenges that we have yet to find solutions to, however, in order to avoid inconsistency with the changed value system of the audience, the business needs to turn on critical thinking and learn to look at the world through the eyes of its customers, taking into account new mental barriers and the natural change curve. the reaction of a society going through the stage of accepting the inevitable.

Now is the time to reboot and prepare for the inevitable transformation. Those companies that will be able to break out of psychological traps and the expectation of the return of previous conditions will find solutions and provide customers of the new formation with exactly the product and services that will fit into the changed consumer scenarios. For this, it is important to take into account the factors that contribute to the formation of a competitive offer in the face of uncertainty and the evolving mentality of the digital consumer:

  • Development of scenarios of behavior at each point of contact and empathic mapping of changes in archetypal models will help to see the transformation of purchasing behavior and build a customer-centric ecosystem, including product, service, marketing and sales, eliminating the risks of losing loyalty to a changed audience;
  • Adapting companies to changing consumer scenarios in the face of uncertainty will help keep the proposed solutions relevant;
  • The introduction of digital technologies into the design of interaction with customers will provide omnichannel communications with the audience. As we design the buyer-seller relationship of the future, artificial intelligence will become a key success factor and empower businesses to communicate effectively with the digital consumer.

The role of business

The role of business is changing. In the face of uncertainty faced by the market, rethinking and deep understanding of new consumer behavior scenarios becomes the main reference point in making many decisions and understanding the new role. The traditional buyer-seller relationship is no longer sufficient for the audience. Society expects support, complex communications and interaction appropriate to the situation. It is important to note that business has already demonstrated its adaptability, and in this sense, I am close to the position of Andrew Winston, mentioned in his Harvard Business Review article "How the role of business has changed in 2020".

Affordable online services, introduced in almost all spheres of life, are gradually compensating for the lack of live communication. In conditions of restrictions and potential danger, more and more preference is given to places free of people. Of course, the issue of the speed of society's transition to full recognition of the changed reality directly depends on the success of the epidemiological measures taken and the international information field in relation to this problem; time.

The pandemic has turned the consumer market upside down by changing habits, values, expectations, barriers, opportunities and lifestyles. We are dealing with a rapidly evolving digital generation of users of a wide variety of services, which, in the context of epidemiological constraints around the world and the massively developing COVID-hypochondria, is acquiring new forms and dimensions. According to the latest research, up to 50% of millennials are already choosing remote service formats - without sellers or other customers. What will these percentages be by the end of 2021? Will it be sixty or seventy? While this is difficult to predict, we know for sure that the pandemic has served as a catalyst. Once the behavioral scenarios are completely changed, there is no turning back.

Scroll up

Covid-трансформация. Чего ждать?

Covid-трансформация. Чего ждать?

С начала пандемии мир становится другим. Одновременно с системными сдвигами в экономике происходит существенная трансформация в обществе, которая является следствием изменения восприятия каждым его членом окружающей реальности. Не смотря на всю кажущуюся многогранность таких реакций, все их с определенной уверенностью можно вписать в психологическую модель пяти стадий принятия, предложенную еще в 1969 году Элизабет Кюблер-Росс в ее исследованиях околосмертных переживаний пациентов — с учетом последующей ее доработки в той части, что человек проходит эти стадии принятия не только столкнувшись со страхом смерти, но и в условиях любой экзистенциональной угрозы. Пять последовательных этапов: отрицание, злость, торг, депрессия и принятие.

По сути стадии принятия — это защитный механизм, помогающий человеку психологически адаптироваться к переменам. Если внимательно посмотреть на этапы, которые уже пройдены с момента начала пандемии, то можно достаточно точно прогнозировать сроки перехода к финальной стадии принятия, сопровождающейся позитивным поиском возможностей, адаптацией к новой реальности и изменением личности в целом.

Весна 2020 года сопровождалась характерными для первой стадии отрицания тезисами: «мировой заговор», «политика», «СМИ просто нагнетает ситуацию», «меня не коснется», «никто из моих знакомых не болеет», «маски бесполезны». Новости вызывали шок и полное их непринятие. Уже к лету стадию отрицания сменили злость и поиск виновных. С разных сторон слышались обвинения о том, что ограничения незаконны, государство не помогает, масок нет и национальная медицина не готова. Вместе со злостью люди пережили страх, так как раньше никто не задумывался о смертельно опасных вирусах. Сознание захватил негатив.

Вслед за отрицанием и злостью общество перешло к стадии торга, сопровождающейся активными мерами по исправлению ситуации: покупкой самых эффективных масок и экранов, соблюдением санитарных норм, регулярной обработкой антисептиками поверхностей, усиленным использованием противовирусных препаратов и витаминов для укрепления иммунитета, удаленной работой и самоизоляцией, соблюдением социальной дистанции. Запущенная в разных странах программа вакцинирования встречена с большим энтузиазмом. Общество воодушевлено своими первыми победами, и все с нетерпением ждут скорого завершения этой истории. Что дальше?

Как только завершится стадия торга, вместе с ощущением достигнутых успехов уйдет и временно охвативший общество оптимизм. 2020 год закончился, а эпидемиологические мероприятия продолжатся. Нет объективных оснований ожидать, что эпидемия коронавируса прекратится с началом нового года. При этом, изменит ли массовая вакцинация ситуацию кардинально? Конечно. Но учитывая мощности предприятий, производящих вакцины, ждать появления коллективного иммунитета и окончания пандемии ранее конца текущего года не приходится, даже с учетом импорта из стран, где вакцины изготавливаются по лицензии.  Возможно ли усиление карантинных мероприятий в 2021 году? Да, безусловно. Более того, если эпидемия будет выходить на очередной пик и система здравоохранения перестанет справляться, невротизация общества будет настолько велика, что оно само потребует всех посадить под замок.

Итак, затянувшиеся меры и периодически ухудшающаяся ситуация, постепенно ввергнет общество в депрессию, для которой будут характерны сожаление о прошлом, беспомощность, чувство одиночества, раздражительность и желание уединиться: помощи от государства не будет, очередь на прививку будет еще очень нескоро, все равно все заболеют, мы все смертны, можно снимать защиту и т.п. — все ограничения бессмысленны.

С какими новыми вызовами и задачами столкнется бизнес на этой стадии? Это будет сложный период, сопровождающийся общим снижением деловой активности. Задача бизнеса в это время демонстрировать аудитории свою адаптивность к новым условиям, предлагать понятные и комфортные решения, транслировать уверенную позитивность и поддержку. Потребительский рынок перестанет сожалеть о прошлом образе жизни и привычках, если сформулировать актуальные ценности, наполнить коммуникации иными смыслами, использовать появившиеся возможности и предложить новые форматы.

Перезагрузка стратегии продаж и коммуникаций

Общество, безусловно, все еще испытывает сопротивление и не готово полностью включиться в новую реальность, но это вопрос времени. Мы зашли в 2021 год с вызовами, на которые нам только предстоит найти решения, тем не менее, чтобы избежать несоответствия изменившейся системе ценностей аудитории, бизнесу необходимо включить критическое мышление и научиться смотреть на мир глазами своих клиентов, учитывая новые ментальные барьеры и кривую изменений естественной реакции общества, проходящего стадии принятия неизбежного.

Сейчас самое время для перезагрузки и подготовки к неизбежной трансформации. Те компании, которые смогут вырваться из психологических ловушек и ожидания возврата прежних условий, найдут решения и предоставят клиентам новой формации именно тот продукт и сервисы, которые впишутся в изменившиеся потребительские сценарии. Для этого важно учесть факторы, способствующие формированию конкурентоспособного предложения в условиях неопределенности и эволюционирующей ментальности цифрового потребителя:

  • Разработка сценариев поведения в каждой точке контакта и эмпатическое картирование изменений архетипических моделей помогут увидеть трансформацию покупательского поведения и построить клиентоцентричную экосистему, включающую продукт, сервис, маркетинг и продажи, устранив риски потери лояльности изменившейся аудитории;
  • Адаптация компаний к изменяющимся потребительским сценариям в условиях неопределенности поможет сохранить актуальность предлагаемых решений;
  • Введение цифровых технологий в дизайн взаимодействия с покупателями обеспечит омиканальные коммуникации с аудиторией. По мере того, как мы будем проектировать отношения между покупателем и продавцом будущего, искусственный интеллект станет ключевым фактором успеха и расширит возможности бизнеса в построении эффективных коммуникаций с цифровым потребителем.

Роль бизнеса

Роль бизнеса меняется. В условиях неопределенности, с которой столкнулся рынок, переосмысление и глубокое понимание новых потребительских сценариев поведения становится основным ориентиром в принятии многих решений и понимания новой роли. Аудитории уже недостаточно традиционных отношений покупатель-продавец. Общество ждет поддержки, сложных коммуникаций и взаимодействия, соответствующего ситуации. Важно отметить, что бизнес уже продемонстрировал свою адаптивность и в этом смысле мне близка позиция Эндрю Винстона, упомянутая в его статье Harvard Business Review «Как изменилась роль бизнеса в 2020 году».

Доступные онлайн-сервисы, внедренные практически во всех сферах жизни, постепенно компенсируют отсутствие живого общения. В условиях ограничений и потенциальной опасности все большее предпочтение отдается местам, свободным от людей. Безусловно, вопрос скорости перехода общества к полному признанию изменившейся реальности напрямую зависит от успешности предпринимаемых эпидемиологических мер и международного информационного поля в отношении данной проблемы, тем не менее, наличие ориентиров поможет бизнесу актуализировать свое представление о новых ментальных моделях аудитории и предусмотреть предстоящую трансформацию потребительских сценариев во времени.

Пандемия перевернула потребительский рынок с ног на голову, изменив привычки, ценности, ожидания, барьеры, возможности и образ жизни. Мы имеем дело со стремительно эволюционирующим цифровым поколением пользователей самых разных сфер услуг, которое в условиях эпидемиологических ограничений по всему миру и массово развивающейся Сovid-ипохондрии приобретает новые формы и масштабы. Согласно последним исследованиям, до 50% миллениалов уже выбирают удаленные форматы обслуживания — без продавцов и других клиентов. Каковы будут эти проценты к концу 2021 года?  Это будет шестьдесят или семьдесят?  Хотя предсказать это трудно, мы точно знаем, что пандемия выполнила роль катализатора. Как только поведенческие сценарии изменятся полностью, пути назад уже не будет.

Пролистать наверх